Opening Ceremony Flagbearers

OK, the flagbearers have been officially announced. There are 87 of them announced, as India, which will compete in these Games as Independent Olympic Athletes (IOA), will march under the Olympic Flag, so it seems they did not want to announce who will carry that flag.

No major surprises. As always, the majority of the flagbearers are former Olympic athletes – 52 of the 87 have competed at the Olympics previously. The 35 new Olympians to carry the flags are often from small countries, with only 1-2 competitors,  or nations competing in the Winter Olympics for the first time, such as Dominica, or Timor-Leste.

Five athletes will be carrying their nation’s flag for the 3rd time at an Opening Ceremony – Albanian Erjan Tola, and Nepalese Dachhiri Sherpa both carried their flags in 2006 and 2010. Three athletes will be doing this for a third time, but not consecutively –Cristian Simari Birkner carried the Argentine flag in 2002 and 2010, the Mexican Prince Hubertus Von Hohenlohe carried his flag in 1994 and 2010, while Eva Tofalvi carried the Romanian flag in 2002 and 2010.

Several athletes will carry their national flag for a second time – Bermuda’s Tucker Murphy, Bosnia & Herzegovina’s Žana Novaković, the Cayman Islands’ Dow Travers, Kyrgyzstan’s Dmitry Trelevski, and Moldavian Victor Pînzaru.

There are a few interesting notes about flagbearers. Hanna Mariën will carry the Belgian flag. She has competed at the Olympics before, but only at the Summer Olympics, winning a silver medal in the 4×100 relay at Beijing in 2008. Ivica Kostelić will carry the Croatian flag for the first time, but his sister, Janica, carried it three times at the Winter Olympics – 1998, 2002, 2006. And Todd Lodwick will carry the USA flag before competing in his 6th Winter Olympics. Only three times has an Opening Ceremony flagbearer done so before competing in his 6th Winter Olympics – Jochen Behle of Germany in 1998, Mike Dixon of Great Britain in 2002, and Finland’s Marja-Liisa Kirvesniemi-Hämäläinen in 1994.

If you want to carry your nation’s flag, it’s a good idea to be an Alpine skiier, as fully 33 of the flagbearers will compete in that sport. Second on the sporting list is cross-country skiing with 15. Ski jumping brings up the rear with only multiple Olympic medalist Simon Ammann of Switzerland carrying a flag from that sport.

And here is the complete list of flagbearers. The order in the far right column denotes the order in which they will march into the stadium. This is done as follows: Greece is always first, the host nation is always last (Russia), and the others come in alphabetically, in the alphabet of the host nation, in this case, Cyrillic Russian.

NOC Name Sport Sex Order
Albania Erjon Tola ASK M 5
Andorra Mireia Gutierrez ASK F 6
Argentina Cristian Simari Birkner ASK M 7
Armenia Sergey Mikayelyan CCS M 8
Australia Alex Pullin SNB M 2
Austria Mario Stecher NCO M 3
Azerbaijan Patrick Barchner ASK M 4
Belarus Alexei Grishin FRS M 10
Belgium Hanna Emilie Marien BOB F 11
Bermuda Tucker Murphy CCS M 12
Bosnia & Herzegovina Zana Novakovich ASK F 14
Brazil Jaqueline Mourao BIA/CCS F 15
British Virgin Islands Peter Crook FRS M 9
Bulgaria Maria Kirkova ASK F 13
Canada Hayley Wickenheiser ICH F 35
Cayman Islands Dow Travers ASK M 34
Chile Dominique Ohaco FRS F 82
China Tong Jiang FSK M 38
Chinese Taipei Sung Ching-Yang SSK M 69
Croatia Ivica Kostelic ASK M 79
Cyprus Constantinos Papamichael ASK M 36
Czech Republic Sarka Strachova ASK F 81
Denmark Lene Nielsen CUR F 24
Dominica Gary Di Silvestri CCS M 25
East Timor Yohan Goncalves Goutt ASK M 70
Estonia Indrek Tobreluts BIA M 85
Finland Enni Rukajarvi SNB F 77
France Jason Lamy-Chappuis NCO M 78
Georgia Nino Tsiklauri ASK F 23
Germany Maria Hoefl-Riesch ASK F 21
Great Britain Jon Eley STK M 17
Greece Panagiota Tsakiri CCS F 1
Hong Kong Pan To-Barton Lui STK M 22
Hungary Bernadett Heidum STK F 18
Iceland Saevar Birgisson CCS M 30
Ind. Olympic Athletes 50
Ireland Conor Lyne ASK M 29
Iran Hossein Saveh Shemshaki ASK M 28
Israel Vladislav Bykanov STK M 27
Italy Armin Zoeggeler LUG M 32
Jamaica Marvin Dixon BOB M 86
Japan Ayumi Ogasawara CUR F 87
Kazakhstan Yerdos Akhmadiyev CCS M 33
Korea Lee Kyou-Hyuk SSK M 60
Kyrgyzstan Dmitry Trelevski ASK M 37
Latvia Sandis Ozolins ICH M 39
Lebanon Alexandre Mohbat ASK M 40
Liechtenstein Tina Weirather ASK F 42
Lithuania Deividas Stagniunas FSK M 41
Luxembourg Kari Peters CCS M 43
Macedonia  FYRO Darko Damjanovski CCS M 16
Malta Elise Pellegrin ASK F 44
Mexico Hubertus Von Hohenlohe ASK M 46
Moldova Victor Pinzaru CCS M 47
Monaco Olivier Jenot ASK M 48
Mongolia Byambadorj Bold CCS M 49
Montenegro Tarik Hadzic ASK M 80
Morocco Adam Lamhamedi ASK M 45
Nepal Dachhiri Sherpa CCS M 51
Netherlands Jorien ter Mors STK F 52
New Zealand Shane Dobbin SSK M 53
Norway Aksel Lund Svindal ASK M 54
Pakistan Muhammad Karim ASK F 55
Paraguay Julia Marino FRS F 56
Peru Roberto Carcelen CCS M 57
Philippines Michael Christian Martinez FSK M 76
Poland Dawid Kupczyk BOB M 58
Portugal Arthur Hanse ASK M 59
Romania Eva Tofalvi BIA F 61
Russia Alexander Zubkov BOB M 88
San Marino Vincenzo Romano Michelotti ASK M 62
Serbia Milanko Petrovic BIA M 63
Slovakia Zdeno Chara ICH M 64
Slovenia Tomaz Razingar ICH M 65
Spain Javier Fernandez FSK M 31
Sweden Anders Soedergren CCS M 84
Switzerland Simon Ammann SKJ M 83
Tajikistan Alisher Qudratov ASK M 67
Thailand Kanes Sucharitakul ASK M 68
Togo Mathilde Amivi Petitjean CCS F 71
Tonga Bruno Banani LUG M 72
Turkey Alper Ucar FSK M 73
US Virgin Islands Jasmine Campbell ASK F 20
Ukraine Valentina Shevchenko CCS F 75
United States Todd Lodwick NCO M 66
Uzbekistan Kseniya Grigoreva ASK F 74
Venezuela Antonio Pardo ASK M 19
Zimbabwe Luke Steyn ASK M 26

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *